LuckyInspiringAnecdotes’s Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Street Fuzion X:Deceade Vision Dance March 12, 2010 April 10, 2010

Filed under: Arts,Uncategorized — luckyinspiringanecdotes @ 11:15 pm
Tags: , , ,

I saw the poster of Street Fuzion 10 at the University of the Philippines, College of Education. Immediately I know that it will be a good source of inspiration for my son when he tries dance workshops this summer.

We reserved two P200 tickets through text message and picked it up on the day of the event. The tickets were being sold at P100 and P200. On the day itself, we arrived 30 minutes before the show to find already a winding snake of a line. After a few turns and corners we were able to find the end and waited for another hour or so before the doors of the theater opened. The show started 30 minutes late and my 9 year old has been asking me like donkey when is the show about to start. He entertained himself by running around in the field.

Nuggets: Bring something light to eat like a snack and drinks while waiting in line or you can buy from the roaming “kuyas” chips and ice-cold drinks.

This dance is presented by the UP Streetdance club together with The Crew, UP Streetdance Alumni and many more.

Finally we were able to get seats. We sat on the second row right facing the stage. The area, although not idea for your neck, was passable since my son and I want to see the action upclose. The show started with a performance from a solo artist and a DJ. After about 15 minutes of his rap, then came 10 different dances. I am no dance expert but from a layman’s point of view I can understand why its called Fuzion Dance. Some of the moves I can identify are: jazz, pop, ballet, ballroom, breakdance and street.

There were different kinds of moves that were presented as well. Overall I can say the performance was entertaining. It has its highs and lows. There are some parts that were dragging. I measure it by the amount of enthusiasm and attention my son gives. There were also some parts that made him sleep but there were other numbers that made him dance on his seat.

Nugget: You can use a camera to take pictures but please remove the flash. If you have a high-speed camera that will be really great. I have loads of “would have been an amazing photo” but it was blurry and unrecognizable because the subjects were moving.

After the performances, two of the hosts started a stand-up comedy where one of them impersonated “Krissy”. This was the most entertaining part of the show for me. I honestly think the tandem was appropriate and that the references to their sponsors were witty and hilarious. It was a good break from the performances. Luckily, I even won a Maldita GC for trying to give an answer. Anyway, thanks for not embarrassing me.

We weren’t able to finish the show since its past 10 pm already and we were just in the intermission. Just like the other shows I have attended in UP, sometimes the reason for the late ending is because of the late start as well. However, they really make it up for the level of performance.

If I were to grade this show based on UP-standards. I’d give it a “2” grade.

Till next year!

 

Leave a Reply

